Customer reviews for HRBlock H&R Block - Basic

HRBlock H&R Block - Basic

Complete a simple federal tax return for a great low price.
Overall rating:
3.805 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(385 reviews) 358
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 385 reviews
5 Stars
192
4 Stars
74
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
28
1 Star
60
278 out of 374(74%)recommend this product.
Customer reviews for H&R Block - Basic
Review 1 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best tax preparation software for the money.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
jeffentre
From:Westminster, CO, USA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past I used a different tax preparation program, but one year the software somehow calculated my taxes incorrectly. The IRS discovered this error and contacted me about it. As a result I ended up paying an additional $600 in taxes, penalties, and interest. There was no assistance from the other tax program company.
In the years I've used H&R Block's program, the calculations have always been accurate, providing me with the maximum return I was due. The program was easy to install and use. I really appreciate the accuracy check at the end, to assure me that everything has been verified before I send the return in.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, accurate calculations
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Cammy1209
Age: 35-44
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to anyone interested in doing their taxes at home. In the end, it will save you time and most importantly MONEY!
The program is easy to understand and if you have a question, the help section is wonderful. I have always been able to find answers to my questions using the help information already loaded into the program.
If you are weary about doing your own taxes...I say "take the change and go for it". You will be pleasantly surprised.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4 years strong

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
vonnie
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love H&R block. They do what they say. Moving over to them was the best thing i could have done. I moved over 4years ago and had issues with the irs and they stepped in and did what they said. I didnt even need to speak with them after i learned i was being audited. They are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Should have done this sooner - just a relief that i bought it :P

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
CauseImHappy
From:Texas, USA
Age: 35-44
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, I'm getting things done at the last minuite, I scramble to buy - (download) the basic program from H R Block.
Was a little scared :{0 but, I had 16 hours to file. So, I had no excuse, I know that the internet is safer than we are told. So I have no excuse.
I didn't like fact that I had to dish out more cash if I went to my regular agents office,
for just two "forms" :(
Anyways I got the software downloaded and wallah, still stayed with H R Block. They have my back just in case the irs comes knocking.
It's just another option to use, that is keeping cash in my pockets. By the way, I've being doing my taxes with H R Block for about 10 yrs. This is my first time using the software from home.
Can't wait for next year...
Thanks H R Block
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, affordable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great software

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
StarMan
From:AZ
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product and easy to use. Third year to use H&R Block.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product!

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Doug78
From:Liberty Township, OH, USA
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unfortunately I put off doing my taxes until the last week. Fortunately, H&R Block's software was affordable, easy to use, and user friendly. I highly recommend it!
Doug S
Liberty Township, Ohio
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I've use the Basic product the last three years and liked it very much.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Denny64
From:Michigan
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems like all the states would like to see e-file as the normal filing. I pay for the software and object to paying more to file it (I don't qualify for free filing#. It would be nice if you could campaign for getting the states to allow two or three free e-file returns when we purchase the software. That is one of the things I like about the Federal software. I'm even thinking about stopping the purchase of the state software, but free e-file would make me think twice. I'm going to send my state #Michigan), the same comment as this.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The filing was quick and easy

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Dewy2013
From:Austin, TX, USA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As in past filings, the longest process was the gathering of all tax related material to fill in the forms. Once I had everything gathered, filing in the necessary fields was a breeze.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Convenient and user-friendly

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
elin
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 18-24
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: Yes
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
H&R Block made filing my taxes for the first time very easy. For all the information that I was unsure of there was usually a description text to let me know what the form was asking for. I also appreciated the straightforward and linear steps for filing the form.
There was a clear navigation bar and I was very rarely confused.
The only critique I have is when H&R block forced me to upgrade when I was trying to e-file my taxes at the end.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Conshaving to upgrade when trying to e-file.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Online chat is a plus

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
DanParis
From:Worcester, MA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The chat feature is excellent, the man I conversed with was very helpful and much faster than calling the IRS on the phone.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Consistently reliable, accurate, and easy to use

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
GaryB
From:Middletown, MD
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used H&R Block (TaxCut) for many years and have never had a single issue with any of my tax returns. It's always easy to use and consistent for year-to-year so I don't feel like i have to re-learn it each year. The price is reasonable and I always feeling like I get excellent value for the price paid.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, consistent from year to year
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take the "axe" out of Taxes

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Cyndie
From:Longmont, CO
Age: 55-64
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tax time is stress time for many folks. This software takes the gruesomeness out of preparing your return and any forms required. Now I can go out and enjoy April.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is very easy to use even if you have no tax experience

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
JDDD
From:Daphne, AL, USA
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only one issue that I feel needs to be resolved. After my return was accepted by the IRS I received an Email message indicating it had been received and that I should go to the "STATUS" section of the software to obtain a Declaration Control Number (DCN). I did as directed and after connecting to the Internet I receive a page titled "Your E-file Status: Federal Return Accepted. The page provided a "Submission ID: followed by a 20 digit number. There was no mention of a DCN. I then called your help number and finally got to talk with a person who had no idea what I was talking about but after about 3 minutes of searching her files she started asking me lots of questions to verify if I was the person calling. I do not like to give out information on the phone so I stopped her and called out to her the Submission ID number to see if that was the same as the DCN. She verified that was the number listed in her information as the DCN. I recommend you change your software so the two names are the same so there is no confusion to the user.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, uses last year's info
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply the best tax program available at the lowest cost available

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
whoever
From:okemos, mi 48864
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using H & R Block tax software for 7 years now and absolutely love it. I use just the basic version because it has all the same forms at the deluxe version. The deluxe gives more advice but if you know what you are doing then the basic version does it all for less cost. I do my taxes and my 3 sons all for the price of one program. Always print to .pdf and always save your file everytime you change any numbers. Always print a hardcopy just in case you loose a .pdf file. My only suggestion is don't e-file the state forms because if you try to open the files next year to look at your return it will not open because the state program disappears and it can't find the software so you can't even open last year's federal return. So I never e-file the state forms because they are so easy to do by hand. Always print to .pdf and always save your file everytime you change any numbers.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues, everything
Consnothing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tax computation was simple. Tax payment by credit card expensive.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
genbobcat
From:IL
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I had many variables to consider, the tax computation was easy to complete. I was very disappointed in the cost to use a credit card for payment of taxes owed. I could not figure out how to back out of this method of payment. Had I been able to do so, I would have chosen a different payment method. H & R should have provided this information.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Appreciate ease to file with H&R Block

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
GLORIA1963
From:Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is NOT first time to use the H & R Block tax program ... and it WILL NOT BE THE LAST!
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Miata
From:Florida, USA
Age: 55-64
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used H&R Block for 4 years ...I find it easy to use and fool-proof. Even if you have never used this program, you won't be disappointed. It's easy to install and you are guided point by point to a completed return.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast, Easy to fix issues
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy and accurate!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
jshaw87
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and extremely accurate.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My experience with the H&R Block Basic 2013 program has been flawless

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
TSXS
From:Ohio, USA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dad didn't have the same experience with the professional version. I believe it had to do with his lack of know-how, been his personal Basic program worked excellent he said.
Anyone can do their own taxes if they keep current and organized throughout the year. I personally enjoy adding info to my return as W-2s and 1099s become available. Tax time really is a 3-4 week season for me, spending 30~ minutes a week.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues, seamless
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for H&R Block - Basic
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always user friendly

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
snc60
From:seattle, wa
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this tax software for several years now, and am always very happy with the ease of use and helpful database of answers.
ProsMaximizes refund
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>