Customer reviews for HRBlock H&R Block - Free

HRBlock H&R Block - Free

The best solution for first-time filers and simple tax returns that includes error-checking.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(4390 reviews) 3670
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 4,390 reviews
5 Stars
3,478
4 Stars
462
3 Stars
144
2 Stars
111
1 Star
195
4,001 out of 4,321(93%)recommend this product.
Customer reviews for H&R Block - Free
Review 61 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THIS PRODUCT HAS GOOD VALUE

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
From:GEORGIA
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT ISTHE BEST I'VE USED. I WAS DISAPPOINTED THAT I DID NOT GET THE OPTION TO PRINT AND MAIL IN MY STATE TAXES.
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund
Conscan notprint st tax info
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

print my return

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
From:massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
how can I print my return. I followed all the instructions, but none were for printing the return
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund
Consno printing instructions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to use

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's so easy to use and I was able to see that I can get a refund
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Single
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used H&R Block's online service in the past, then tried TurboTax the following year. What a mistake! Turbo Tax's site kept crashing and they didn't ask me enough questions to get the correct information. H&R Block's site has rock solid performance and asks me all the right questions, while keeping it simple. I appreciate the quality of the product and happily filed my current year's tax return with H&R Block and am completely satisfied.
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simple to use and I like that it checks your accuracy

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Houston, TX, USA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Would recommed to anyone that needs to file a tax statement
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Cleveland, OH, USA
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as long as i have an 1040-EZ i will do my own taxes its very easy to use and the price is great... i will be back next year...
ProsEasy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund
ConsTime consuming
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding service at this office and by my tax advisor!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Roger knows my business and yours, inside and out. I'd recommend, and have done so, to anyone including clients, family, and friends!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always a good experience here.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Have used this service for many years, always with a good experience.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: Yes
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't figure out how to submit with my checkbook in front of me.
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to use

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and understand. Takes you through the process step by step and even has little question marks next to certain things explaining exactly what the item means. Inexpensive and fast. No hefty fees like they charge in the offices. Also imports your info into the state return for you. Lets you know if you made any mistakes and prompts you if you claim a credit you actually don't qualify for. If you filed a previous year's return it will import your info for you into your new year. Free efile.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to use

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this service for several years and have always been happy with the results
ProsEasy to prepare
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Much superior in value to the other popular product

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Oakland, CA, USA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty easy to get started, and great to be able to import data from the competition's software, as well as import data from banks and financial institutions. Still tough for someone with moderately-increasingly complicated tax complications. Would have been nice to have had 24-hr tax advice support.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, technical support was supportive
ConsDoesn't maximize refund, Time consuming, tax adviser not available 24/7
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Dallas, TX, USA
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend using H&R Block! They made filing taxes so easy and the best part is it took very little time.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was good, but cannot print the 2013 1040A form.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:New York, NY
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: Yes
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Put in ALL the data requested, and cannot print the 2013 1040A form at the end. This is VERY frustrating. The form shows up as codes that are indistinguishable.
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast
ConsHard to import, Hard to install
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I recommend for Federal Tax returns ONLY! Software for state income tax returns poor.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Atlanta GA.
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: Yes
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good for Federal Returns, State tax returns software needs improvements. Not worth $30.00 to file state returns but free federal package is okay.
ProsMaximizes refund
ConsHard to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product have excellant hands on features.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:North Carolina, USA (part year resident)
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greatly appreciated how the product easily assisted me with the part year resident filing options. It was a big help to me.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good enough

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Rohnert Park, CA, USA
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have to trust this website and company. However, after we did our taxes they advertised to bring them in to see if they could get you more money. That sort of concerns me because I would think that their on line program should be good enough...
ProsEasy to prepare
ConsDoesn't maximize refund
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast & Easy

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Pittsburgh
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HR Block stole me away from Turbo Tax. I'm done with a 1040 in 15 minutes now. Love it.
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast
Consdoesn't import
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and free!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Gilmer, TX, USA
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tailor-made. Took less than 2 hours to file. I'm always a late filer and this service is great for me. Recommend!
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for H&R Block - Free
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to follow, appreciate free e-file but for state must call to get code

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
From:Vermont
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I find this tax site quite easy to use. This is the second year I've done this through H & R Block, and while I recommend it, I still had to call and speak to an agent to get a code to apply for free e-file of my state return. (I had to do that last year, as well.) I found out when I got to the last page and they wanted to charge me. My state is Vermont, and it is in the list of states eligible for this service. Here is the link to the page where you will see Vermont among the list of qualifying states:
http://www.hrblock.com/taxes/partner/index.jsp?otpPartnerID=8882&campaignId=pw_mcm_8882_0001
The "Learn More" button on that page doesn't work, either.
ProsEasy to prepare
Conshad to call to get free state return code
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 184 next>>