Customer reviews for HRBlock H&R Block - Deluxe

HRBlock H&R Block - Deluxe

This is the right choice if you own a home, have investments or make charitable donations.
Overall rating:
3.937 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(3416 reviews) 3224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 3,416 reviews
5 Stars
1,677
4 Stars
764
3 Stars
380
2 Stars
272
1 Star
323
2,594 out of 3,288(79%)recommend this product.
Customer reviews for H&R Block - Deluxe
Review 241 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

1099-B

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Charles Schwab Brookerage Customers have no importing ability into this software. Your entries have to be done manually.
ConsTime consuming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 242 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor product

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this product for many years now and always had problems with form 8606. I have had to know it was needed to actually get to it. This year was the worst. I had no way of going to it because I didn't get a 1099 about my distribution.
I don't think I'll be using it next year.
A. Fueyo
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 243 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is only for a standard tax return.

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
I submitted my Federal first and my state later. Because of my living situation, I was forced to create a dummy Federal Return to get my Maryland state taxes to work. Unfortunately this program will NOT allow me to efile my Maryland taxes separately, without submitting my Federal. I do not want to refile my federal. There were numerous other issues as well. I have used this software for at least the last 5 years, but next year I am going to go with your competitor. It could not be any worse than your software. Very frustrating....
ProsEasy to install
ConsDoesn't maximize refund, Time consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 244 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Product has gone to the dogs

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used this products for years only to find that this year H&R Block didn't do their job. The program didn't ask appropriate questions nor provide guidance on how to select between options on the federal or state programs. State programs didn't properly handle unemployment payments from the state. They have lost my future business.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import
ConsDoesn't maximize refund, Time consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 245 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A WASTE OF MONEY

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it will not let me update, print correct forms, see or do state forms or file, will not let me check e-file, just tells me i am not doing it. This so far has wasted 10 hrs of time with nothing to show for it. I used Turbo last year and done and filed in 1hr. I have wasted my money since I can not file the forms and or e-file or do state.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 246 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't e-file Fed Tax Return with a 1099-R with foreign address

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't e-file 1099-R with foreign address for my 2011 tax return. I was able to do this for my 2010 tax return.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 247 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this soft ware is extremely difficult to use for mac

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used H&R Blocks for many years but never on mac. it is extremely difficult to use and update.
I spend so much time before e-file and it doesn`t let me unless software is updated and it was almost impossible to update after I tried several times.
I will stop using this next year and may try different program.
ConsHard to install, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 248 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

endless recycle to update

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Can't get to screen to efile. Wants you to update, but cycles over and over. All I want to do is Efile what I have Completed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast
ConsHard to import, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 249 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is the poorest tax program ever

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This program goes into a loop and will not allow me to complete my Federal which after I correct it, it continues loop and will not get past it. I have used H&R Tax software for years, this is the worst program I have ever used. Based upon this experience I will not be purchasing this program in the future.
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 250 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Missing forms, poor documentation, unable to e-file

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There were several forms which weren't contained and had to be downloaded directly from federal or state agencies. There aren't even direct links to the forms, you must go to the sites and search. I still don't know why deduction pro is a separate app, but that lacked as well, and required me to download a form separately. I was able to e-file my federal return, but am required to mail an additional form afterwards. With having to file in multiple states, I had to download additional forms separately, and it prevented me from filing either state electronically. The interview sections seem to keep shrinking every year too. Thankfully I've been through this process enough times that I know when it didn't ask me about soemthing and I can hunt around to find it. I keep buying this same software and kicking myself every year for not switching.
ProsEasy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 251 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed product that required manual filing of return

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the 2nd year we have used At Home. Both times the software could not handle a requirement of recalculating previous year returns due to tax refunds. We had to manually recalculate the impact of a state tax refund (including AMT). The software is incredibly weak.
The software also did not include a simple IRS form that was required for our return and according we were forced to file both federal and state returns manually even though we purchased the deluxe edition. This also required that we pay a $25 state 'paper filing' fee.
While I was not pleased with Turbo tax a few years ago, they are definitely better.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 252 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very poor software

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could not e file a return for dependant that has zero income and expenses, Even though he qualifies to use form 1040EZ the program would not tell me that or give me the option to use that form. Even during the print phase, had to dig really deep to find the 1040EZ qualifing checklist (then it was not visible on the screen, only printable). This is a significant downgrade from the 2010 version.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 253 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unhappy

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used Turbo Tax for years. This was my first experience with H&R block and I will end up doing my tax return with paper and with my own calculations. This was not as user friendly as Turbo Tax. I will be going back to Turbo Tax next year.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to import
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 254 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst I have used in 20 years of using software

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My return is complex with both W2 and 1099 income and minister housing allowance. A huge problem is that the first time I thought I was finished I then am told I need to do worksheets that change the amounts I can claim on expenses so I have to go back and redo a bunch of stuff in the middle of the return. Then I find that you do not include the worksheets I need for the statement. I have to go to IRS, print my own worksheets, fill them out by hand, then manually correct data in the return. This is ridiculous and I have never had to this much trouble before. The whole process of printing my fed and state returns and also making copies for my records is extremely confusing.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 255 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

GRRRRRRR

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Single
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expected to use this with no pain as I have for years, So far I can't even find where to start entering data. I have named the file and you have uploaded last year's data and now what? Where is the old she box or the step by step questions.
ConsHard to prepare
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 256 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Why did I switch from TurboTax?

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was trying over a dozen times to "Update" and was told needed to update, I am not sure if I will ever get the thing done. It is now telling me Draft Form...wish me luck If I can get a final form
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 257 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is the second year in a row that the program has more defects

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The program continues to have more errors each year. Sale of Assets Long Term page is programmed longer than a standard page and chops off last line, Interest Income has 14 lines on form but program uses a separate Summary page instead of entering 8 items on Schd B, printing of backup copy generated 2 copies--but both incomplete missing pages, unlike prior years the icon for backup onto the flash drive does not work in the program, the Interest Income Summary prints Taxable K-1 Interest line and enters zero when it should not be listed at all. Seems like each year the program is growing with defects. One has to wonder if what is being done in the background is correct or this carelessness will grow into major defects. After using computer tax programs for 15 years, never had a problem before the last 2 years.
ProsEasy to install, Fast
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 258 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unable to file online

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: I'd rather not say
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Program would not let me file online. No place to type Electonic filing PIN. Program only accepts a tax id number. Would not buy program again.
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 259 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Confusing

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
This is the 3rd time I've used H&R Block. The IRS refused electronic filing multible times.The reason shown by the program for the refusal was for a incorrect zipcode or state code. It was so vague we could never identify what they were referring to. It is also extremely difficult and time consuming to find and view specific pages of the return- it seems to want to show the worksheets only.
ProsEasy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 260 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Apprent bug miscalculated taxes meaning I had to file a amended return.

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Files taxes several weeks ago when software said no more updates planned. Then you came out with an update on March 22. After update installed, it then said I was due a bigger refund than I had originally filed for. I determined that the version I filed with did not apply Foreign Taxes reported on a 1099-DIV as a foreign tax credit. I had to file an amended return to be able to claim the credit. Had this been due to some new quirk in the tax code, it might be understandable you had a bug, but this is something that has been in the code for years. I've used TaxCut/H&R Block for over 6 years, but this is the last time.
ConsDoesn't maximize refund
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 162 next>>