Customer reviews for HRBlock H&R Block - Deluxe

HRBlock H&R Block - Deluxe

This is the right choice if you own a home, have investments or make charitable donations.
Overall rating:
3.942 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(3379 reviews) 3190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 3,379 reviews
5 Stars
1,662
4 Stars
759
3 Stars
374
2 Stars
268
1 Star
316
2,570 out of 3,252(79%)recommend this product.
Customer reviews for H&R Block - Deluxe
Review 241 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

endless recycle to update

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Al419
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Can't get to screen to efile. Wants you to update, but cycles over and over. All I want to do is Efile what I have Completed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ProsEasy to prepare, Fast
ConsHard to import, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 242 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is the poorest tax program ever

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
karl57
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This program goes into a loop and will not allow me to complete my Federal which after I correct it, it continues loop and will not get past it. I have used H&R Tax software for years, this is the worst program I have ever used. Based upon this experience I will not be purchasing this program in the future.
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 243 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Missing forms, poor documentation, unable to e-file

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
IMJekyll
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There were several forms which weren't contained and had to be downloaded directly from federal or state agencies. There aren't even direct links to the forms, you must go to the sites and search. I still don't know why deduction pro is a separate app, but that lacked as well, and required me to download a form separately. I was able to e-file my federal return, but am required to mail an additional form afterwards. With having to file in multiple states, I had to download additional forms separately, and it prevented me from filing either state electronically. The interview sections seem to keep shrinking every year too. Thankfully I've been through this process enough times that I know when it didn't ask me about soemthing and I can hunt around to find it. I keep buying this same software and kicking myself every year for not switching.
ProsEasy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 244 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed product that required manual filing of return

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
whitesjtaa
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the 2nd year we have used At Home. Both times the software could not handle a requirement of recalculating previous year returns due to tax refunds. We had to manually recalculate the impact of a state tax refund (including AMT). The software is incredibly weak.
The software also did not include a simple IRS form that was required for our return and according we were forced to file both federal and state returns manually even though we purchased the deluxe edition. This also required that we pay a $25 state 'paper filing' fee.
While I was not pleased with Turbo tax a few years ago, they are definitely better.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 245 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very poor software

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
JAG526
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could not e file a return for dependant that has zero income and expenses, Even though he qualifies to use form 1040EZ the program would not tell me that or give me the option to use that form. Even during the print phase, had to dig really deep to find the 1040EZ qualifing checklist (then it was not visible on the screen, only printable). This is a significant downgrade from the 2010 version.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 246 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unhappy

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
pic14me
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used Turbo Tax for years. This was my first experience with H&R block and I will end up doing my tax return with paper and with my own calculations. This was not as user friendly as Turbo Tax. I will be going back to Turbo Tax next year.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to import
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 247 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst I have used in 20 years of using software

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Bob4208
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My return is complex with both W2 and 1099 income and minister housing allowance. A huge problem is that the first time I thought I was finished I then am told I need to do worksheets that change the amounts I can claim on expenses so I have to go back and redo a bunch of stuff in the middle of the return. Then I find that you do not include the worksheets I need for the statement. I have to go to IRS, print my own worksheets, fill them out by hand, then manually correct data in the return. This is ridiculous and I have never had to this much trouble before. The whole process of printing my fed and state returns and also making copies for my records is extremely confusing.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 248 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

GRRRRRRR

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Evelyn
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Single
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expected to use this with no pain as I have for years, So far I can't even find where to start entering data. I have named the file and you have uploaded last year's data and now what? Where is the old she box or the step by step questions.
ConsHard to prepare
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 249 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Why did I switch from TurboTax?

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Booo
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was trying over a dozen times to "Update" and was told needed to update, I am not sure if I will ever get the thing done. It is now telling me Draft Form...wish me luck If I can get a final form
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 250 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is the second year in a row that the program has more defects

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
JBB101
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The program continues to have more errors each year. Sale of Assets Long Term page is programmed longer than a standard page and chops off last line, Interest Income has 14 lines on form but program uses a separate Summary page instead of entering 8 items on Schd B, printing of backup copy generated 2 copies--but both incomplete missing pages, unlike prior years the icon for backup onto the flash drive does not work in the program, the Interest Income Summary prints Taxable K-1 Interest line and enters zero when it should not be listed at all. Seems like each year the program is growing with defects. One has to wonder if what is being done in the background is correct or this carelessness will grow into major defects. After using computer tax programs for 15 years, never had a problem before the last 2 years.
ProsEasy to install, Fast
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 251 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unable to file online

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
alwaysright
Age: I'd rather not say
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Program would not let me file online. No place to type Electonic filing PIN. Program only accepts a tax id number. Would not buy program again.
ConsHard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 252 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Confusing

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Philinbos
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: No
This is the 3rd time I've used H&R Block. The IRS refused electronic filing multible times.The reason shown by the program for the refusal was for a incorrect zipcode or state code. It was so vague we could never identify what they were referring to. It is also extremely difficult and time consuming to find and view specific pages of the return- it seems to want to show the worksheets only.
ProsEasy to import
ConsTime consuming, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 253 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Apprent bug miscalculated taxes meaning I had to file a amended return.

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer avatar
UnHappyCustomer001
Age: 45-54
First Time Filer: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Files taxes several weeks ago when software said no more updates planned. Then you came out with an update on March 22. After update installed, it then said I was due a bigger refund than I had originally filed for. I determined that the version I filed with did not apply Foreign Taxes reported on a 1099-DIV as a foreign tax credit. I had to file an amended return to be able to claim the credit. Had this been due to some new quirk in the tax code, it might be understandable you had a bug, but this is something that has been in the code for years. I've used TaxCut/H&R Block for over 6 years, but this is the last time.
ConsDoesn't maximize refund
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 254 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Amending Federal 1040 is impossible

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
CraigP
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After clicking on Amending 1040 your software destroyed my original return file. And I never could get your software to print a 1040X. It just printed a 1040.
ConsHard to prepare
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 255 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

We could not use your tax product this year.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
petunia
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We found this years product very confusing and we did not finish and file. Last year we could follow everything and thought it was great. We printed out some of the pages and the numbers were not completed, as when we put in 2012 it was listed only as 20.They asked us for 4 digits on years. We paid for it because we liked it last year. We were residents of Florida until Dec. 31 2010 ,and became residents of Ohio on Jan. 1, 2011, therefore we purchased Ohio State form also but found it so confusing we just decided to quit.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to import, Hard to prepare
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 256 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Difficult to navigate

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
gtobey
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A navigation nightmare. I cannot imagine anyone without detailed
knowledge of the end result who needs to itemize using this software accurately.
ProsEasy to install
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 257 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

K-1 Instructions are poor. Instructions to correct errors are poor.

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Fairbank
Age: I'd rather not say
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
K-1 Instructions are poor.
Print instruction are poor
Print forms are poor quality
ConsHard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 258 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This use to be a GOOD program!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Unhapppy
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used this program for 10 years, and it used to be good. (Was Tax cut).As I get older, I cannot read the smaller size print, since you require the 1026 size.
It gets harder to find forms, etc., and used to have a page to compare last years numbers to this year. Suggest you go back about 5 years and examine your old program for better working areas.
ConsHard to install, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 259 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Good!

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Eumel789
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this product before, but this year's version is terrible. Maybe I should have used Intuit again!
It did not offer income averaging or monthly payments for the taxes I owe. I had to force that manually!
Printing used only half a page on each page, so you could not read all of it. I wasted 48 pages and ink for nothing!
The PDF version finally printed ok.
...and I paid $45 dollars for this!!!
ConsDoesn't maximize refund, Time consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 260 for H&R Block - Deluxe
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

$36.95 for a state product that barely works

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
cmd97
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Married
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: Yes
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I have used this software in the past for our federal return with little to no problem. This year, I worked in a different state for part of the year and the software was unable to properly figure out what needed to be done with the separation of one person working in two different states, with one of them as a non-resident.
Overall, it was very easy for federal, but if you have any craziness whatsoever with the state taxes, this probably isn't the software for you.
ProsEasy to install, Maximizes refund
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 160 next>>