Customer reviews for HRBlock H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition

HRBlock H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition

Standard Edition
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
11 out of 15(73%)recommend this product.
Customer reviews for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Review 1 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product helps an peron and gives an person the fredom to do their own taxes .

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Age: 35-44
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like the fredom and the help that this product has for everyone
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
ConsTime consuming
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall an excellent experience!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: Yes
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first time using H&R Block to do my Federal tax return and I have to say it was a fantastick experience. I buzzed right through the process and found that H&R Block found many different ways to save me additional taxes and got me back the best return. I had always used Turbo Tax in the past. Not anymore! Four stars + one. The extra is for the vacation I am gonna take next month to Hollywood because of H&R Block.
I am an official Block Head Charlie Brown!
Good Grief!
Thank you H&R Block
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THE PROGRAM

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 35-44
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome program. I got behind in my daily tasks, but this program lessened my anxiety.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some good features but poor help

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Some of the features like walking thru the steps by steps are good.
The help is extremely poor. Very hard to find a specific item in the help.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import
ConsHard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent only for the very basic taxpayer.

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only negative I found was regarding the Market Value of Traditional IRA's. Since I was doing a joint return I thought the answer on the first request should be the TOTAL of both Traditional IRAs, but when it asked for the same information one or two screens later, I then thought the requests were simply poorly labeled, and they really wanted individual IRS totals.
I never did learn which was correct on the above.
One other thing...the program refers to "you" and "(Spouse's name)". That assumes all is exactly the same as the previous year, but I believe it should consider the possibility of the spouse being the preparer this year, or the possibility of there being a divorce and a new marriage.
ProsEasy to import
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy, fast, affordable

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 18-24
Marital status: Single
First Time Filer: Yes
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My review summary pretty much sums it up. If you have one dollar, twenty minutes, and an internet connection, you've done your taxes.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most easy program i have ever used

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This program talked me through everything i needed to know and do to do my returns. I have already suggested my friends to use it and will continue to suggest it to others. I have tried the other programs out on the market in the past but I am glad i used the H&R Block Home edition this time and will continue to use it in the future.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Save to PDF doesn't work.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: Yes
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tried to save as PDF many times. I ended up with a 0Kb file every time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All features are good except import features. Does not include Edward Jones

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find this program good and very user friendly. The only drawback is I cannot import my Edward Jones account information as they are not included in the import list. If you could add Edward Jones back to your import list (They were there last year in 2011) this program would be the best for me. Is there a reason H&R Block took Edward Jones off the import list? Thanks
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Maximizes refund, Easy to fix issues
ConsTime consuming, Hard to import
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does Not Answer Help Question!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 35-44
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will never use H&R Block home edition ever again. They give you "help" on fill out your taxes, but you need to upgrade to find out the answers to the "help". I will never again buy a H&R Block program.
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Extremely difficult to use.

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: Over 65
Marital status: Married
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: Yes
Business Owner: No
Student: No
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I misunderstood some instructions and now I can't figure out how to go back and delete some entries. Used Block last year and had no problems. This year - nothing but!! Will think long and hard about using Block again.
ProsEasy to install, Fast
ConsTime consuming, Hard to prepare, Hard to fix issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great program and easy to use

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 25-34
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: Yes
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ALWAYS paid someone to prepare my taxes. I used H&R Block home edition this year, and it was so easy. I recommend this to anyone. It's got step by step instructions that make things easy. I know NOTHING about taxes and mine are prepared and now I am expecting my refund shortly, with e-file.
ProsEasy to install, Easy to prepare, Fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

loved this was verty easy to follow

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 55-64
Marital status: Single
Dependents: No
First Time Filer: No
Home Ownership: No
Business Owner: No
Student: Yes
inexpensive and fast, reliable and I trust H
& block as i used to work for the for 6 years
ProsEasy to install, Easy to import, Easy to prepare, Fast, Easy to fix issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for H&R Block - Software - Standard Edition
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Accuracy & Tax Expertise 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear Instructions 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5